You are here: Home / The IPN / Archive / The German Team for the International Physics Olympiad in Lisbon has been Confirmed

The German Team for the International Physics Olympiad in Lisbon has been Confirmed

June 4th, 2018
The German Team for the International Physics Olympiad in Lisbon has been Confirmed

LTR: Pascal Reeck, David Ventzke, Tim Pokart, Wilhelm Holfeld und Jule Schrepfer

Five students beat strong competition and will now take part in the International Physics Olympiad in Portugal in July.

From May 26th - 31 st, 2018, Germany's 15 best physics students competed in the final round of the Physics Olympics in Germany. They completed various exams with tricky theoretical and experimental tasks from all areas of physics at the Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI) in Bremerhaven. Five participants impressed the jury with particularly good solutions. These physics geniuses will represent Germany at the International Physics Olympiad in Lisbon, Portugal in July 2018, to which delegations from over 90 countries are expected.

The annual Physics Olympiad in Germany is organized and carried out by the Leibniz Institute for Science and Mathematics Education (IPN) at Kiel University in cooperation with the Ministries of Education and Cultural Affairs and with financial support from the BMBF.

The tasks of the final round as well as the experiments were designed by the competition management at the IPN as well as former participants and offered some challenges to the young physicists, who had already been able to assert themselves in three preliminary rounds among approximately 930 students nationwide. Music was in the air during an experiment on the thermal expansion and vibration of guitar strings.

In addition to the exams, the young talents were also able to explore exciting physical phenomena: During a guided tour through the AWI ice core laboratory, the participants went into a cold chamber and were able to examine ice samples from Greenland and Antarctica. The young people were offered a cultural and political supporting program including a visit to the Emigration house in Bremerhaven. But just as important were the meetings with like-minded people and the lively exchange with each other.

At today’s award ceremony the winners were honored by Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius, Director of the AWI, Dr. Thomas Bethge, Head of the Unit "Quality Development and Standard Assurance" for the Senator for Children and Education, and Prof. Dr. Gerrit Lohmann, Head of the Section "Dynamics of the Paleoclimate".

These 5 best young German physicists are:
1st place: Pascal Reeck, Wilhelm Ostwald School (Leipzig)
2nd place: David Ventzke, Wilhelm Ostwald School (Leipzig)
3rd place: Jule Schrepfer, Goetheschule (Ilmenau)
4th place: Tim Pokart, Max-Steenbeck-Gymnasium (Cottbus)
5th place: Wilhelm Holfeld, Martin-Andersen-Nexö-Gymnasium (Dresden)

The five Olympians will first attend further preparatory seminars and then the International Physics Olympiad in Lisbon, Portugal, in July.

In addition, candidates can further deepen the impressions gained during the week through a research internship at the AWI. This special prize was awarded to Lucas Kersten of the Fallstein Gymnasium (Osterwieck). Those participants who did not win any of the main prizes in this round deserve also recognition for their remarkable achievements - they have reached a place in the final round out of almost 1000 participants.