You are here: Home / Research / Projects / KiFoLa


Student Labs in Teacher Training Programmes

Student Labs in Teacher Training Programmes”, a project supported by the Deutsche Telekom Stiftung, aims to  integrate student labs into university STEM-teacher training. Through active participation in student labs, the pre-service teachers can apply, intensify and contextualise their content as well as their pedagogical content knowledge during teaching. This is intended to help close the gap between theoretically oriented courses of university education on the one hand and the practical requirements of the school day on the other. The project “Student Labs in Teacher Training Programmes is designed as a cooperative project of the universities FU Berlin, HU Berlin, Koblenz-Landau, Münster, Oldenburg and Kiel. In Kiel the student lab Kieler Forschungswerkstatt (KiFo), a joint facility of the Kiel University and the Leibniz Institute for Science and Mathematics Education, is integrated into an interdisciplinary course for pre-service teachers studying biology, chemistry and physics. In the framework of this course, the pre-service teachers develop and refine existing learning tasks of the KiFo, test them with students and finally evaluate and refine them.

The experiences made in the courses at the participating universities are regularly exchanged among the cooperation partners. This way, successive and sustainable concepts will be developed for the integration of student labs into STEM-Teacher training at universities. Furthermore, the benefit of such learning opportunities will be empirically evaluated.

For further information concerning the development alliance see
Supported by the Deutsche Telekom Stiftung

Project Collaborators
Prof. Dr. Knut Neumann (Physics Education)
Prof. Dr. Ilka Parchmann (Chemistry Education)
Dr. Irene Neumann (Mathematics and Physics Education)
Stefan Sorge (Physics Education)

Affiliated Partners
Humboldt Universität Berlin (Prof. B. Priemer, Prof. A. Upmeier zu Belzen)
Freie Universität Berlin (Prof. V. Nordmeier, Prof. Hilde Köster)
Universität Koblenz-Landau (Prof. B. Risch, Prof. J. Roth)
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (Prof. M. Leuchter, Prof. F. Käpnick)
Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg (Prof. M. Komorek, B. Weusmann)