You are here: Home / The IPN / Archive / German student team excelled at the 1. European Physics Olympiad

German student team excelled at the 1. European Physics Olympiad

1. June 2017
German student team excelled at the 1. European Physics Olympiad

German EuPhO-delegation after the award ceremony. Clockwise: Pascal Reeck (Gold), Christian Schmidt (Gold), Konstantin Schwark (Bronze), Maurice Zeuner (Silver), Markus Zetto (Silver), and Dr. Gunnar Friege

The first European Physics Olympiad (EuPhO) was hosted by Estonia in Tartu and Tallinn from May 20th – 24th, 2017. The five members of the German National Team used this competition to successfully prove their skills, scoring two gold, two silver, and one bronze medal, placing Germany among the top teams.

Initiated by Estonia, the EuPhO is the first European event of this kind and follows the example of the very successful multi-country competitions in Asia and the Americas.

The National as well as the International Physics Olympiad aim to foster students with a special interest in physics. They provide an opportunity for the students to showcase their achievements and to network with likeminded fellow students. Each participating nation sends a team with up to five contestants to the international event. More than 80 nations will be competing at this year’s event in Indonesia.

The German selection contest is organized and hosted by the Leibniz Institute for Science and Mathematics Education (IPN) in cooperation with the education ministries of the federal states. It receives financial support from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

The top 91 students from 20 European countries participated in this first European Physics Olympiad. The German contestants were Pascal Reeck (Wilhelm-Ostwald-Schule, Leipzig), Christian Schmidt (Martin-Andersen-Nexö-Gymnasium, Dresden), Konstantin Schwark (Carl-Zeiss-Gymnasium, Jena), Markus Zetto (Leibniz-Gymnasium, Rottweil), and Maurice Zeuner (Carl-Zeiss-Gymnasium, Jen). Head of the delegation was Dr. Gunnar Friege from the Leibniz University Hanover.

The students faced a tight schedule with demanding practical and theoretical questions. Contrary to the IPhO, at the EuPhO the students were confronted with less specific and rather broad questions requiring more creative solutions.

The German competitors’ keen sense and good intuition were amply rewarded. Christian Schmidt (rank 3) and Pascal Reeck (rank 4) each received a gold medal. Silver went to Maurice Zeuner (rank 8) and Markus Zetto (rank 15), Konstantin Schwark (rank 28) won a bronze medal. Additionally, Maurice Zeuner received special recognition for the by far best result in the experimental exam. This is a great success for the German team and gives high hopes for the upcoming IPhO in Indonesia.



Dr. Stefan Petersen
IPN, Olshausenstraße 62, 24118 Kiel
Phone: 0431 / 880-5120
email    [Email protection active, please enable JavaScript.]