You are here: Home / The IPN / Archive / Team Germany becomes European Champion at the 17th European Science Olympiad in Almada, Portugal

Team Germany becomes European Champion at the 17th European Science Olympiad in Almada, Portugal

May 14th, 2019

Following the successes of the German teams at the European Science Olympiads (EUSO) in recent years, expectations were high again this year and were nevertheless exceeded: Both German teams won one of the coveted six gold medals! Out of 50 participating teams from 24 countries of the European Union Team B with Nantje Nageler, Damian Groß and Franz Loose finished the competition in 1st place and became European Champion. Now the EUSO Cup goes to their hometown schools for a year. Quite a special success!

Once a year, the European Science Olympiad brings together teams of students from the countries of the European Union to solve interdisciplinary experimental scientific problems. This year's host Portugal invited 50 teams from 24 countries of the European Union to the EUSO in Almada from May 4th - 11th, 2019.

Each delegation consisted of two student teams with one expert each in biology, chemistry and physics and the accompanying mentors. The 50 student teams enthusiastically tackled the experimental tasks and demonstrated their skills.

The two interdisciplinary exams dealt with current social topics such as the planning of a wave power plant for regenerative energy and the related impact assessment for nature or the importance of cork as a sustainable material with its special properties. The exams were varied and technically well prepared: This meant that various experimental methods had to be carried out, ranging from microscopy and titrations to digital image analysis and PCR.

For Germany, these tasks were performed by:

Team A:

  • Fabian Kutz (Biology, Carl-Friedrich-Gausss-Gymnasium, Frankfurt (Oder), Brandenburg)
  • Maximilian Mittl (Chemistry, Carl-Orff-Gymnasium Unterschleißheim, Bavaria) and
  • Tobias Messer (Physics, Martin-Andersen-Nexö-Gymnasium, Dresden, Saxony)


Team B:

  • Nantje Nageler (Biology, Carl-Zeiss-Gymnasium, Jena, Thuringia),
  • Damian Groß (Chemistry, Werner-von-Siemens-Gymnasium Magdeburg,
  • Saxony-Anhalt) and
  • Franz Loose (Physics, Martin-Andersen-Nexö-Gymnasium, Dresden, Saxony)

The young people were accompanied by PD Dr. Burkhard Schroeter from the IPN, the Leibniz Institute for Science and Mathematics Education in Kiel, which is responsible for the national preselection and training of the Olympians, as well as Dave Hartig (TU Braunschweig), Annabel Maisl (University of Würzburg) and Jan Kruse (University of Munich).

Burkhard Schroeter
[Email protection active, please enable JavaScript.]